Weaning

Weaning

I started to wean the Little Fella at 5 months, I really wanted to wait until he was 6 months and follow the guidelines but he was showing the developmental signs early.

I attended a workshop with the health visitors and spoke to them about the Little Fella. They invited me back so they could check his weight and to also allow us to further discuss whether it is a suitable time to start and I felt like I was making the correct decision.

Weaning Signs

The NHS have suggested some signs that can indicate when your baby is ready for weaning:

  1. Stay in a sitting position and hold their head steady
  2. Pick things up and put them in their mouth
  3. Show an interest in food

Weaning Essentials:

Fork or potato masher

Hand blender

Ice cube tray

Small plastic pits with lids

Freezer bags

Baby spoons

Bibs

Soft mashed vegetables and fruits are very good options to start weaning your baby. 

When babies are getting use to first tastes, they only need 1-2 teaspoons. Making a batch of foods is also very useful as you can easily defrost the food item when needed which can save time and using an ice cube size is perfect. 

I will upload my blog with recipes I’ve used and also diaries to allow you to share our experiences.

Leave a Reply

